Skip to main content

Fears of a Museum Director

Fears of a Museum Director © EP 2023

Estonia, 2014

Pencil, paper, 650 × 500 mm (each)

Purchased from the artist in 2023

This series of drawings, commissioned for the show Is This the Museum We Wanted? after Fears of the House Owner (2013), is both amusing and thought provoking. Flo Kasearu has created a set of thirty nightmare scenarios that could keep any museum director awake at night (the European Parliament has already purchased nine of them). While some fears are more reasonable than others - a UFO landing on a museum roof is less probable than a sudden relocation or restructuring after an election. The lack of knowledge about the future is the main source of anxiety. Speculation and imagination run wild as a result.

The seemingly comical drawings take on a deeper significance: they represent the fear of an uncertain future. This apprehension can hinder us, but it can also motivate us to take action that may be disproportionate to the threat. Only an open society with equitable and democratic access to information can ensure that communities feel secure and confident.

Flo Kasearu is a graduate of the Academy of Art in Tallinn, Estonia. In addition to her artistic work, she is the director of the «Flo Kasearu House Museum,» a large site-specific art project created in her home, attic, basement, and backyard in Tallinn.

More artists from the following country:

Flo KASEARU: Fears of a Museum Director, 2014 - On display in Parlamentarium, Brussels

Fears of a Museum Director


Click on the coloured dots and discover the european historical context

Browse the calendar and discover the european historical context

  • 2013
  • 2014
  • 2015
  • 2016
  • 2017
  • 2018
  • 2019
  • 2020
  • 2021
  • 2022
  • 2023
  • 2024
  • 2025
  • 2026
  • 2027
  • 2028
  • 2029
  • 2030
  • 2031
  • 2032
  • 2033
  • 2013

    Acquisition programme

    Acquisition programme of works of art from Croatia following the Bureau decision from 13 December 2006.

    Enlargement Croatia

    Croatia becomes the 28th member of the EU and newly-elected Croatian MEPs take their seats in the European Parliament.

  • 2014

    2014 European elections

    The eighth European elections take place in 28 EU countries. The European People’s Party (EPP) retains the largest political group in Parliament, but new parties gain influence. Turnout remains largely at 2009 level.

  • 2016

    Brexit referendum

    UK voters decide to support leaving the European Union in a closely-fought referendum called by UK Prime Minister David Cameron. The outcome of the referendum triggers the resignation of Cameron. His successor Theresa May pledges to take the UK out of the EU and initiates the process on 29 March 2017.

  • 2017

    Antonio Tajani

    Antonio Tajani served as President of the European Parliament from 2017 to 2019.

  • 2019

    David Sassoli

    David Sassoli served as President of the European Parliament from 2019 to 2022.

    Value of culture

    (…) the intrinsic value of culture and of artistic expression should always be preserved and promoted and that artistic creation is at the heart of cooperation projects. European Parliament legislative resolution of 28 March 2019 on the proposal for a regulation of the European Parliament and of the Council establishing the Creative Europe programme (2021 to 2027) and repealing Regulation (EU) No 1295/2013 (COM(2018)0366 – C8 0237/2018 – 2018/0190(COD))

    2019 European elections

    The European elections in May 2019 see about 51% of EU voters go to the polls, the highest turnout in 20 years. The centre-right European People’s Party and centre-left Social Democrats lose seats but remain the two largest groups in Parliament, while other centrist and liberal parties make gains.

  • 2020


    After the European Parliament ratified the withdrawal agreement on 29 January, the UK leaves the EU about three and a half years after voters supported the move in a referendum.

    As of 1 February, the number of EU member states is 27 and the term of office of UK MEPs ends. The number of MEPs is 705 (previously 751), as some of the UK seats are allocated to existing member states to reflect demographic changes, while others are kept in reserve for when another country joins the EU.

  • 2021

    Acquisition programme of works of art from Germany, Poland, Spain and Sweden following the Bureau decision from 25 November 2019

  • 2022

    Acquisition programme of works of art from Czechia, Italy, Malta and Slovakia following the Bureau decision from 25 November 2019

    Roberta Metsola

    Roberta Metsola serves as President of the European Parliament since January 2022

  • 2023

    Acquisition programme of works of art from Cyprus, Estonia, Malta, Romania and The Netherlands following the Bureau decision from 25 November 2019